Kamal Music Center

Sitar Curriculum

Written on August 11, 2010   By   in Uncategorized

Course for Sitar/Instrumental Music

Level One:

  • Sangeet, Swars, Naad and Shruti.
  • Aroh, Avroh, Saptak and Lay.
  • Corect Placement of Fingers on the Instrument
  • Knowledge about  words of MIJRAB Da Dr Da Ra Da R Da etc
  • Different Alankars with different layakaries
  • Knowledge about Ragas and their rules.
  • One Gat and Toras in The prescribed ragas.
  • Rag Bilawal, Yaman and Bhopali.
  • Knowledge about Tal Dadra, Keherva and Teen tal.
  • Knowledge about the notation system of Vishnu Narayan Bhatkhandae. (introduction)

Level Two:

  • Knowledge about Thaats.
  • Review the notation system of Vishnu Narayan Bhatkhandae. (detailed)
  • Alankars in prescribed Ragas
  • One Rajakhani gat with Alap and Toras
  • Raag Durga, Kafi, Khamaj, and Bhairav
  • Tal, Lay, Sum, Tali, Khali, Avartan and Matra.
  • Knowledge about Ekgun, Dogun, Chaugun and Laykaris.
  • One Dhun in  rag Bilawal
  • Tal Dadra, Keharva, Teen Tal and Ek Tal.
  • Notation of Indian National Anthem.

Level Three:

  • Naad (Ahat-Anahat), Shruti Swars and Vikrit Swars.
  • Classification of Raagas, Varna (Sthai, Antra, Sanchari, Abhog).
  • Vadi, Samvadi, Anuvadi, Vivadi and Varjit Swar.
  • Purvang and Uttrang
  • Knowledge of the following concepts: Tal, Lay and its kinds (Dugun, Tigun, Chaugan) and Tal to be written in Pt. Vishnu Narayan Bhatkandhe Notation System.
  • Recognizing Raagas and Taalas given through some swars.
  • Knowledge of Raagas with Madhya Lay, Alap and Taanas.
  • Rag Desh, Bhageshwari, Bhimpalasi and Kafi.
  • Jhap Tal, Ek Tal, Chau Tal, Teen Tal with Daugan and Chaugan.

Level Four:

  • Review Levels One, Two and Three.
  • Knowledge of  Masseet Khani Gat and Razakhani Gat.
  • Recognizing Raagas and Taalas given through some notes and Bools.
  • One Maseetkhani Gat and one Razakhani Gat in any prescribed Raagas.
  • Alap, Jod Alap, Jhalla.Tihaidar Tukre etc.
  • Gats in Jhaptal or Roopak Tal
  • Dhun in any Rag
  • Writing of Notation system
  • Raag Bhrindavani Sarang, Malkonse, Bharav and Bharvi.
  • Rupak, Tal, Ek Tal, Jhap Tal, Teen Tal, Keherva Tal and Dhadra Tal.

Level Five:

  • This Level will include Composition of Gat’s & writing in the same in notation.
  • A brief description about the other styles of classical and light music (Geet, Gazal, Bhajan and  Shabad).
  • .Knowledge about Meend, Kaann, Kampan,  Ghaseet, Krintan, Zamzama,   Gamak
  • Review of all Raagas of levels One, Two, Three and Four
  • Razakhani Gat in each of the prescribed ragas
  • Raag,  Mia Ki Todhi and Puriya Dhanashri, Desh Kar
  • Tal       Deepchandi, Sul Tal, Tilwada Tal and Jhumra Tal

Level six:

  • This Level will include Review of all Practical and  Theory previously done
  • The history of Indian and Western notation systems. The advantages and disadvantages of adopting the Western notation system for Indian music. Possibility of evolving a new system of notation for  the purpose of maintaining the standard of Indian music.
  • Two Maseetkhani Gat with Alap, Jor Alap, Meend, Kan, Gamak etc
  • All Rajakhani Gats of all levels with Toras and different type of Zhalas
  • One Gat in Dhmmar Tal with different Laykaries
  • Dhun with changes different Talas
  • One Thumri
  • Raag Joog, Raag Lalit, Raag Durbari and Raag Puriya Kalyan
  • All Talas from level One to Five.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *