Kamal Music Center

Vocal Music Curriculum

Written on July 29, 2010   By   in Uncategorized

Vocal Music
Level One:
  • Sangeet, Swars, Naad and Shrutis.
  • Aroh, Avroh, Saptak and Lay.
  • Alankars in Shrudh swars.
  • knowledge about Ragas and their rules.
  • Rag Bilawal, Alahiya Bilawal, Yaman and Bhopali.
  • One Dhrut khayal and one lakshan geet.
  • Swar maleeka in the above Ragas.
  • Knowledge about Tal Dadra, Keherva and Teen tal.
  • Knowledge about the notation system of Vishnu Narayan Bhadkhandae. (introduction)
Level Two:
  • Knowledge about Thats.
  • Review the notation system of Vishnu Narayan Bhadkhandae. (detailed)
  • Alankars in prescribed Ragas:Dhrut Khayal with Alap and Taanas.Raag Durga, Kafi, Khamaj, and Bhairav.Tal, Lay, Sum, Tali, Khali, Avartan and Matra.
  • Knowledge about Ekgun, Dogun, chaugan and Laykaris.
  • One Sargam geet and one Lakshan Geet in any prescribed Raagas.
  • Tal Dadra, Keharva, Teen Tal and Ek Tal.
  • Notation of Indian national anthem.
Level Three:
  • Naad (Ahat-Anahat), Shruti Swars and Vakra Swars.
  • Classification of Raagas, Varna (sthai, Antra, Sanchari, Abhog).
  • Vadi, Samvadi, Anuvadi, Vivadi and Varjit Swar.
  • Purvang and Uthrang.
  • Knowledge of different Style of singing.
  • Knowledge of the following concepts:Tal, Lay and its kinds (dugun, tugun, chaugan) and tal to be written in Pt. Vishnu Narayan Bhatkandhe Notation System.
  • Recognizing Raagas and Taalas given through some notes and Bolls.
  • Knowledge of Raagas with Madhya lay, Alap and Taanas.
  • Rag Desh, Bhageshwari, Bhimpalasi and Kafi.
  • Jhap Tal, Ek Tal, Chau Tal, Teen Tal with Daugan and Chaugan.
Level Four:
  • Review Levels One, two and Three.
  • Dhrupad, Sargam geet and Lakshan geet.
  • Khayal and its different kinds.
  • Recognizing Raagas and Taalas given through some notes and Bolls.
  • One Sargam geet and one Lakshan Geet in any prescribed Raagas.
  • Dhrut Khayal with Alap and Taanas.
  • Two Taranas in prescribed Raagas.
  • One baada Khayal in Vilambit Lay with proper Gayaki along with Alap and Taan.
  • Raag Bhrindavani Sarang, Malkonse, Bharav and Bhervi.
  • Rupak Tal, Ek Tal, Jhap Tal, Teen Tal, Keherva Tal and Dhadra Tal.
Level Five:
  • This year will include Dhrupad and Dhamar.
  • A brief description about the other styles of classical and light music (geet, gazal, bhajan and shabad).
  • The complete Bada Khayal, Chota Khayal, Tarana and prescribed Raagas.
  • Review of all Raagas of levels one, two, three and four.
  • One Thumri in Raag Bherav.
  • One Dhamar.
  • Raag: Mia Ki Todhi and Puriya Dhanashri.
  • Tal: Deepchandi, Sul Tal, Tilwada Tal and Jhumra Tal.
Level six:
  • This year also will include Dhrupad and Dhamar.
  • All theory review of all levels.
  • The history of Indian and Western notation systems, the advantages and disadvantages of adopting the Western notation system for Indian music, possibility of evolving a new system of notation for the purpose of maintaining the standard of Indian music.
  • Two Badha Khayal.
  • One Chota Khayal.
  • One Dhrupad.
  • One Dhamar.
  • One Tarana.
  • One Thumri.
  • Raag Joog, Lalit, Raag Durbari and Puriya Kalyan
  • All Tals from level one to five.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *